ime Line of Formation of "The Constitution of India"

ime Line of Formation of "The Constitution of India"
6 December 1946: Formation of the Constitution Assembly. (in accordance with French practice.)
9 December 1946: The first meeting was held in the constitution hall (now the Central Hall of Parliament House). 1st person to address – J.B. kripalani. Temporary president Appointed – Sachchidanand sinha. (Demanding a separate state, the Muslim League boycotted the meeting.)
11 December 1946: President Appointed – Rajendra Prasad, vice-Chairman H. C. Mukherjee and constitutional legal adviser B. N. Rau (initially 389 members in total, which declined to 299 after partition. out of 389 – 292 were from govt. province, 4 from chief commissioner province and 93 from princely states)
13 December 1946: An 'Objective Resolution' was presented by Jawaharlal Nehru, laying down the underlying principles of the constitution. which later became the Preamble of the constitution.
22 January 1947: Objective resolution unanimously adopted.
22 July 1947: National flag adopted.
15 August 1947: Achieved independence. India Split into Dominion of India and Dominion of Pakistan.
29 August 1947: Drafting Committee appointed with Dr. B. R. Ambedkar as the Chairman.other 6 members of committee was : Munshi, Muhammed Sadulla, Allad Krishna swami ayyar, Gopala swami Ayyankar, Khaitan, Mitter
16 July 1948: Along with Harendra Coomar Mookerjee V. T. Krishnamachari was also elected as second vice-president of Constituent Assembly.
26 November 1949: 'Constitution of India' passed and adopted by the assembly.
24 January 1950: Last meeting of Constituent Assembly. 'constitution of india' all signed and accepted. (with 395 Articles, 8 Schedules, 22 Parts)
26 January 1950: 'Constitution of India' came in to force. (It Took 2 Years, 11 Months, 18 Days – at a total expenditure of ₹6.4 million to finish)
G. V. Mavlankar was the first speaker when meeting the assembly of Lok sabha, after turning republic.

Committees of the Constituent Assembly

The Constituent Assembly appointed a total of 13 committees to deal with different tasks of constitution-making. Out of these, eight were major committees and the others were minor committees.

Major Committees

Drafting Committee – B. R. Ambedkar
Union Power Committee – Jawaharlal Nehru
Union Constitution Committee – Jawaharlal Nehru
Provincial Constitution Committee – Vallabhbhai Patel
Advisory Committee on Fundamental Rights, Minor


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.